Elden Ring Soft Caps for Each Stat

Anastasios Antoniadis

Elden Ring

In the challenging world of Elden Ring, it is important to know how to level up your character efficiently. Understanding the concept of “Soft Caps” is crucial for every Tarnished. A Soft Cap is the point after which investing more points in a specific stat will not provide significant benefits. Knowing these caps will help you allocate your points more effectively across different attributes, and optimize your character’s build. This guide, inspired by the insights from Reddit users u/AshuraRC and u/getcheddarttv, will break down the Soft Caps for each stat in Elden Ring, providing you with the information you need to make informed decisions as you level up.

Understanding Soft Caps in Elden Ring

Before diving into the specifics, it’s essential to grasp why Soft Caps matter. Initially, as you increase a stat, the benefits received per level are significant. However, after reaching a Soft Cap, the gains per additional point invested drop, often making it more advantageous to start improving other attributes. Recognizing these thresholds ensures that your character remains balanced and powerful, capable of facing the myriad challenges of the Lands Between.


  • First Soft Cap: Level 40. Health Points (HP) gain decreases from 26 to 13 per level.
  • Second Soft Cap: Level 60. HP gained drops to 5 or 6 per level.
  • Third Soft Cap: Level 90. HP gain further reduces to 3 or 4 per level.
  • Hard Cap: Level 99.


  • First Soft Cap: Level 20. Focus Points (FP) gain per level is 6.
  • Second Soft Cap: Level 50. FP gain increases to 8 or 9 per level.
  • Third Soft Cap: Level 55. FP gain decreases to 7 to 4 per level.
  • Fourth Cap: Level 60. FP gain further reduces to 2 or 3 per level.
  • Hard Cap: Level 99.


  • Stamina and Equip Load: Both are influenced by Endurance.
  • First Soft Cap: Level 12. Alternates between 1 and 2 Stamina per level.
  • Second Soft Cap: Level 18. Alternation changes to 2 and 1 Stamina per level.
  • Third Soft Cap: Level 32. Returns to 1 and 2 Stamina alternation per level.
  • Fourth Cap: Level 50. Stamina gain decreases to 1 per three levels.
  • Equip Load Caps: Level 25 and Level 60 for first and second increases, respectively.
  • Hard Cap: Level 99.

Strength, Dexterity, Intelligence, and Faith

For these stats, the Soft Caps generally follow a similar pattern:

  • First Soft Cap: Level 20.
  • Second Soft Cap: Level 55.
  • Third Soft Cap: Level 80.
  • Hard Cap: Level 99.

Additionally, Intelligence and Faith have specific caps related to Sorcery and Incantation effectiveness:

  • First Sorcery/Incantation Cap: Level 60.
  • Second Sorcery/Incantation Cap: Level 80.


  • First Soft Cap: Level 20.
  • Second Soft Cap: Level 55.
  • Third Soft Cap: Level 80.
  • First Incantation Cap: Level 30 (unique for Arcane).
  • Second Incantation Cap: Level 45 (unique for Arcane).
  • Hard Cap: Level 99.

Recognizing these Soft Caps is the first step in crafting an effective character build. Once you hit a Soft Cap, consider whether further investment in that stat aligns with your playstyle or if it’s time to bolster other attributes. For example, if your primary focus is melee combat, reaching the first Soft Cap for Strength or Dexterity might be your initial goal, before turning attention to Vigor or Endurance for survivability. Similarly, spellcasters might prioritize reaching the first Soft Caps for Intelligence or Faith to enhance their magical prowess before diversifying their build.


Efficiently allocating your stats in Elden Ring can be the difference between triumph and defeat. By understanding and utilizing the concept of Soft Caps, you can create a more balanced and effective character, ready to face the challenges of the Lands Between. Remember, while these caps guide your leveling strategy, the most important factor is how you enjoy playing the game. Adjust your build to suit your playstyle, and let your journey through the Lands Between be uniquely your own.

Leave a Comment